Friday, April 25, 2014

R.I.P. Video #31: Elton "June" Wicker, Jr. (Tombstone Records President)

From tha cemetery in Peckville, PA, it's FrankieThaLuckyDog here, remembering a legend in tha undaground, Louisiana rap game today. Today, April 25, 2014, marks 16 years since tha untimely murder of Elton "June" Wicker, Jr., tha president of Tombstone Records. A New Orleans native, Wicker attended Joseph S. Clark High School and Americo Technical Institute, as well as working at Southern Scrap and Popeyes's Chicken & Biscuits. While working, he had a dream of creating a record label. His dream came true when he formed Tombstone Records, which was named after tha George P. Cosmatos film. Tha dream continued to expand when he founded tha Tombstone Basketball League and Cool Spot Baseball League. Wicker was also a volunteer for tha Goretti Saints.

Wicker was a member of tha New Orleans rap group, Da Mobstas, with High Top, Lil' Boo & Y.G.. In total, Tombstone Records had eight releases: In 1994, Da Mobstas' Tripple Beam; in 1995, Cheeky Blakk's Let Me Get That Outcha, Felony's Gansta Tail, Lokee's I Got Dis; in 1996, 2 Blakk's Represent 4 Life, Cheeky Blakk's Fuck Bein' Faithful, L.O.G.'s G's & Soldiers & Lokee's Voodoo Gangsta Funk. Most of tha production on Tombstone was provided by Merrill "Real Roc" Robinson, while additional production was provided by DJ Tee, Ice Mike, Lokee & Mannie Fresh.

Tombstone became in jeopardy on November 14, 1997, when vice president of tha label, Sandy "Patrick" Price, Jr., was shot and killed in New Orleans at only 23 years-old. Then, sadly, on April 25, 1998, just as Wicker was exiting Roosevelt's on North Claiborne, he was approached by a stranger who asked for a light. While being approached, a drive-by shooter sprayed bullets, killing Wicker at only 32 years-old. Wicker has two kids: A son, Elton Wicker III, and a daughter, Kerrionne Wicker. Elton "June" Wicker would've been 48 if he was still alive today.

After Wicker's death, Tombstone was transformed into DangerZone Entertainment, which had three releases: In 1998, II Loaded's Don't Play No Games!; in 2001, Busbak's Retaliation; and, in 2003, All Night Flightaz Dat Drama. All Night Flightaz iz a supergroup that consists of JMD, Busbak & II Loaded.

Tombstone Records Music:

Da Mobstas Tripple Beam (1994)
01. "Creepin'"
02. "Tripple Beam"
03. "You Better Hustle"
04. "Cross-Throwin' Ho"
05. "Wickedness"
06. "It Was A Sad Day"
07. "Solo Creep"
08. "Takin' My Props"
09. "Broke Busted"
10. "Takin' No Prisoners"
11. "Pass Da Blunt"
12. "Danger Zone"
13. "Green Light" Feat. Joe-Joe
14. "This Is For The Hood"

Cheeky Blakk Let Me Get That Outcha (1995)
01. "Let Me Get That Outcha"
02. "Twerk Something (Pt. 2)"
03. "Bitch Get Off Me"
04. "Child Hood"
05. "Real" (Lokee)
06. "Let Me Get That Outcha (Radio)"
07. "Bitch Get Off Me (Instrumental)"
08. "Child Hood (Instrumental)"
09. "Twerk Something (Pt. 2) (Radio)"

Felony Gansta Tail (1995)
01. "Gangsta Tail"
02. "Boys In Blue"
03. "Hustler"
04. "Boys In Blue (Radio)"
05. "Gangsta Tail (Radio)"
06. "Boys In Blue (Instrumental)"
07. "Hustler (Instrumental)"
08. "Gangsta Tail (Instrumental)"

Lokee I Got Dis (1995)
01. "I Told U Go Head... (Intro)"
02. "Just-A-Fied"
03. Dope Fiend Blues
04. "I Got Dis"
05. "Gunnin'"
06. "Slow Yo Roll"
07. Gimmie A Break
08. "M.R. Groove"
09. "Puttin' Niggas On Da News"

2 Blakk Represent 4 Life (1996)
01. "Sneak That Bitch"
02. "Represent 4 Life"
03. "The Real 2 Blakk"
04. "Let It Be Known"
05. "Get Blowed"
06. "Represent 4 Life (Radio)"
07. "Sneak That Trick"
08. "2nd Line Jump"
09. "Nigga Is Real"

Cheeky Blakk Fuck Bein' Faithful (1996)
01. "Fuck Bein' Faithful"
02. "Story Tell"
03. "Keep It On The Real"
04. "Young Girls"
05. "Shake That Ass"
06. "Roll Call"
07. "Represent"
08. "I Ain't Bein' Faithful (Radio)"
09. "Keep It On The Real (Radio)"
10. "Story Tell (Radio)"

L.O.G. G's & Soldiers (1996)
01. "Gravefillaz" Feat. Lokee
02. "G's N Soldiers"
03. "Ski Mask" Feat. Lokee
04. "Hustlin' Is Da Skillz"
05. "S.A.C. Mafia For Life"

Lokee Voodoo Gangsta Funk (1996)
01. Prelude
02. "Intro (Dr. Resurrection)"
03. "Torture"
04. "Anything Goes"
05. "Da Grave Yard Shift"
06. "Weed Friends" Feat. Magnolia Slim
07. "R.E.A.L. (Single Edit)"
08. "Niggas Don't Know"
09. "I Got Dis (EP Version)"
10. "My Dick"
11. "Slo Ya Roll (EP Version)"
12. "Acapella"

DangerZone Entertainment Music:

II Loaded Don't Play No Games! (1998)
01. Intro
02. "Don't Play No Games"
03. "Drama" Feat. JMD
04. "Blakk & Mild"
05. "Fuck Whutcha 'Bout"
06. "Thugz On Drugz"
07. "She Gotta Meat Mouth"
08. "Us Niggaz"
09. "Do You Believe"
10. "Project Hoez"
11. "Fare Well Boyz R.I.P."
12. "Thuggin'-N-Public"
13. "Swervin'" (JMD)
14. "Black & Mild (Radio)"
15. "Don't Play No Games (Radio)"
16. "Do You Believe (Radio)"

Busbak Retaliation (2001)
01. "Come On"
02. "N.O.E."
03. "What's Up" Feat. JMD & Soulja
04. "Shake It Like Ya Wanna" Feat. Ronald Adams
05. "Fo Sho"
06. "Roamin' Through Tha Dangerzone" Feat. JMD & L.O.G.
07. "Fuck That Nigga" Feat. II Loaded & JMD
08. "Trife Life" Feat. JMD
09. "Blazin'"
10. "Thought Ya Knew"
11. "Three Feet" Feat. Merrill "Real Roc" Robinson, Popee & Ronald Adams
12. "Come With Me" Feat. Ronald Adams
13. "In My Nature"
14. "The Flighters" Feat. II Loaded, JMD & Popee
15. "Give Um What They Want" Feat. II Loaded & JMD
16. "Who Am I?"
17. "Toss Um Up" Feat. II Loaded & Popee

All Night Flightaz Dat Drama (2003)
01. "Dat Drama"
02. "What's Up"
03. "Die Tonight"
04. Collect Call (Skit)
05. "Mr. Mister"
06. "Give 'Em What They Want"
07. "F What You 'Bout"
08. "All We Know"
09. Collect Call (Pt. 2) (Skit)
10. "Roamin' Thru The Danger Zone"
11. "Meat Mouf"
12. "Us Niggaz"
13. "Trife Life"
14. "Thugz, Drugz"
15. "Jus Bcuz"
16. "Farewell Boyz"
17. "Da Flightaz"

Major props to my boy, JMD, fa reachin' out ta me on Twitter, and choppin' it up wit me on March 7, 2014, informin' me about Wicker!

Pictures, Footage & Information Credits:
(See end of video)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Blog Archive