Thursday, January 26, 2017

Review #1,612: MC L "Keep Steppin' 1997 Ward"

Reviewed on 1.26.2017 (Review #1,612)

Keepin’ these reviewz goin’, I can do a 2nd one today, luckily! MC L Keep Steppin’ 1997 Ward, released in 1997 on Bally Boy Records! Start Time: 2:59 PM | End Time: 3:48 PM

Disclaimer: I rate each song from 1.0 – 5.0; each rating iz my own opinion! I only please myself wit my ratings! I don’t care how lyrical you are, as long as it’s jammin’ enough for me to like it! I look for beats, then vocals, and then lyrics. To determine my favorites, I will differ tha 4.0 ratings. If a song gets at least a 4.0 rating from me, I love it already. If at least a 4.6 rating, I pretty much really love it, as it’s considered mindblowin’ when I hear it! Any song can earn up to a maximum of a 5.0 rating. Anything I type before “ >>> “ iz what I’m sayin’ before I listen to tha song; anything after I type “ >>> “ iz what I think of tha song while I’m listening to it. If you sound like anything too mainstream for me, have auto-tune in your vocals, or talk about nothin’ but money and hoes (which I consider ‘typical’ topics), I’m not buyin’ it!

© 2017 CD Review (Review #1,612) reviewed on 1.26.2017 by FrankieThaLuckyDog.

Link To CD: N/A

01. “Keep Steppin’”
Produced by Vernon (Kazell); let’s see… >>> Diggin’ tha dark beat, here, as well as how you “steppin’” on tha hook! Nice job wit how you “steppin’” on tha 1st verse, here… Hearin’ tha 2nd verse and it’s pretty nice wit how you tryna “take tha rap game” wit this one… Tha 3rd verse’s soundin’ pretty nice, too; good job! My Rating: 4.2

02. “Cuz I’m A Hard Head”
Produced by Boosey & Wydell… >>> Sounds like anotha good beat for tha undaground… Tha hook’s pretty nice, here… Tha 1st verse’s nice wit how you comin’ through, here… Diggin’ tha “1986 in 7th grade” shit; I was in “7th grade” from 2000 – 2001… Tha final verse sounds pretty grimy wit tha content; good shit… What tha hell was with tha rise in tha music toward tha end? My Rating: 4.3

03. “No Love” feat. Chocolate & Jason Neville
Produced by Shawn… >>> Sounds like a nice beat fa tha ‘90s undaground… Hearin’ tha hook and it’s pretty energetic, here… Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it’s pretty nice, here… Tha 2nd verse’s keepin’ this energetic street content comin’ along… Tha 3rd verse’s consistently keepin’ this track movin’ along, here… My Rating: 4.0

04. “For Playahatus”
Nice title, here; produced by Boosey, Ko-Ko Red & Wydell… >>> Tha beat nice ta hear and tha hook’s pretty good ova this beat… It almost sounds like you’re poppin’ your “P”z & “B”z, lol… Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it’s pretty nice wit this street content you’re bringin’ to tha table for them “playahatus!” Hearin’ tha 2nd verse, here, and it’s soundin’ nice ta hear, as well… Good job wit livin’ this street life wit tha 3rd verse, here… My Rating: 4.1

05. “Peep My Plan” feat. Suga Bear
Produced by Wydell… >>> Beat sounds like a good lil’ hood song, with a melodic twist… Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it’s pretty nice wit what you bringin’ to tha table… Tha hook’s nice with Suga Bear singin’ tha title… Hearin’ tha 2nd verse and it’s pretty consistent wit how you keepin’ these rhymes comin’ along… And, tha 3rd verse’s spittin’ dat knowledge to tha table, when it comes to those peepin’ tha “plan!” My Rating: 4.2

06. “To Make Millions”
Produced by Shawn… >>> Diggin’ tha G-Funk beat, here… Hearin’ tha hook and it’s nice for a hustle; it ain’t a cocky money song, at least! Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it’s pretty dope wit how you rap ova this beat, before tha kicks kick in! Hearin’ tha 2nd verse and it’s pretty nice, as well! “Payin’ bills out tha ass;” I feel like that when it comes to payin’ off my car! I feel like tha money comin’ slow… Tha 3rd verse’s a “struggle;” I feel ya… Gotta keep grindin’ till tha end! Even when I feel like it’s hard to continue some thangz, ya gotta keep grindin’! My Rating: 4.3

½time: Nice, consistent CD for tha undaground streetz, here, with a 4.2 CD rating! Let’s keep it movin’!

07. “Seven Digits”
Produced by Jazz… >>> Really feelin’ tha eerie beat, here! Gotta be tha best one, on here! Tha hook’s pretty catchy; definitely diggin’ all these “digits!” “I got a seven-digit dream;” I feel that! I may feel like that, even tho it’s all about tha passion before tha money! Baleedat! Hearin’ tha 2nd verse and it’s soundin’ like a nice lil’ verse wit tha “longevity”-type content… Spittin’ dem facts on tha 3rd verse, here, “hookin’ [‘em] up for less;” nice! I like how you said, “Hustlin’ in 2007;” now, it’s 2017! Tha decade differences! Where will I be in 2027? Can’t imagine my celebrity status! I’ono… My Rating: 4.4

08. “As I Rise”
Produced by AJ & Jazz… >>> Sounds nice, once again! Jazz knows them eerie sounds work in tha undaground beats! Great job wit tha hook; can’t complain… Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it’s pretty nice wit how you comin’ through, deliverin’ thangz… Even tho I thought it sounded like tha hook, tha 2nd verse sounds pretty nice to hear, here… Yeah, tha title part keeps throwin’ me off as if it was a straight-up hook, non-stop… With that bein’ said, nice job with tha 3rd verse, as well… My Rating: 4.0

09. “Climbing Over Foes”
Produced by Shawn… >>> Diggin’ this eerie beat, as well as tha “murder” hook! Definitely dope shit, right chea! Good job wit how you comin’ through on tha 1st verse for tha streetz, here! It’s all about tha darkness! Hearin’ tha 2nd verse and it’s pretty dope, as well; good shit… Diggin’ tha “fuckin’ hell” rhyme and what you rhymed it with; definitely quality, here! Hearin’ tha 3rd verse and it’s an interestin’ story about this “killa” and pullin’ “tha trigga…” My Rating: 4.3

10. “Shining On Them Whoes” feat. Niecy
Produced by Boosey & Jazz… >>> Beat ain’t bad, here, for tha south… Hearin’ you on tha 1st verse and it ain’t bad; at least tha vibe’s eerie… Tha hook sounds nice and smooth, here… Hearin’ tha 2nd verse and it decent… Keepin’ it goin’ with tha 3rd verse and it ain’t bad wit what you bringin’, here… My Rating: 3.8

11. “Bally Boy”
Produced by Boosey, Jazz & Ko-Ko Red… >>> Beat ain’t too bad for this dark sound… Hearin’ tha hook and it’s pretty nice ta hear, “Bally Boy” style… Hearin’ you on tha 1st verse and it’s pretty nice ta hear… Feelin’ your aggression on tha 2nd verse, as you wanna “hunt [their] fuckin’ ass!” And, a 3rd verse, as “they wanna see [you]” fail and shit; shit sucks! Gotta avoid all bullshit at all times!! My Rating: 4.2

12. “Gonna See My Father”
Produced by Boosey, Jazz & Ko-Ko Red… >>> Endin’ with a quiet-soundin’ beat, here, but still nice for tha ‘90s undaground scene… Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it ain’t bad, here; what else can I say? Hearin’ tha hook and yeah, sounds like a good wish ta “see [your] father.” We’ll see how that goes when I “see my” brother, in tha future! Tha 2nd verse ain’t too bad, here; nice rhymes… And, tha 3rd verse, here, comin’ through, tellin’ your story like it iz… My Rating: 3.7

Overall: This CD went over well; nice lil’ undaground music, of course! Nothin’ really blew my mind like crazy, but, like, this whole entire CD was fulla quality street anthems! Thumbs up! Hope you’re still active out there!


12.       “Gonna See My Father” 3.7
11.        “Shining On Them Whoes” feat. Niecy 3.8
10.       “No Love” feat. Chocolate & Jason Neville 4.0
09.       “As I Rise” 4.0
08.       “For Playahatus” 4.1
07.       “Peep My Plan” feat. Suga Bear 4.2
06.       “Keep Steppin’” 4.2
05.       “Bally Boy” 4.2
04.       “To Make Millions” 4.3
03.   “Cuz I’m A Hard Head” 4.3
02.   “Climbing Over Foes” 4.3
01.   “Seven Digits” 4.4

Average CD Rating Review:

Total Score:                      49.5
Total Songs:                      / 12
Average CD Rating: 4.1

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Blog Archive