Wednesday, April 20, 2016

R.I.P. Video #47: VL Mike 2.0

Broadcasting from tha abandoned West Mountain Sanitarium in Scranton, PA... Today, April 20, 2016, marks eight years since tha murder of New Orleans rapper, Michael Allen, better known by his stage name, VL Mike. Allen was born on January 19, 1976 in New Orleans, LA. As a part of tha N.O.-based rap group, tha Chopper City Boyz, Allen & tha Chopper City Boyz released their debut album, We Got This, on February 27, 2007 on Chopper City Records & Koch Records. Tha album featured tha smash, "Make 'Em Mad", featuring B.G., which was produced by Mississippi heavyweight, David Banner. Tha album sold 27,000 copies in its first week, as it debuted @ #21 on tha Billboard Hot 200 chart, #4 on tha Billboard Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart, #1 on tha Billboard Top Rap Albums chart, and #1 on tha Billboard Independent Albums chart. Shortly after tha album was released, Allen departed from Chopper City Records and went on to pursue a solo career on Executive Game Entertainment. From there, he released I'm The Truth (Da Mixtape) & Place Yo Betz in 2007. Shortly after, Allen was in talks with signing with Sony BMG & Epic Records, gettin' ready to release his debut album, It's Only One Me. However, on April 20, 2008, at around 1:00 PM, while exiting his vehicle on tha 4700 block of Miles Drive, Allen was shot multiple times by a mysterious gunman in New Orleans, where Allen later died at University Hospital. Word on tha street was that Allen's killer escaped by foot.

Shortly after his death, Allen's final-recorded verse would be released on April 24, 2008, on Baton Rouge's A-Mar & Dyl's "To The Max", with Max Minelli & VL Mike. Around tha same time, Allen's solo debut single, "Money In Here", featuring tha legendary N.O.'s Mannie Fresh, was released. In 2011, Mighty Muzik released Can't Say It 2 My Face, more unreleased material from Allen. If VL were alive today, he would've celebrated his 40th birthday on January 19, 2016, as he was only 32 years-old at tha time of his death.


We Got This (w/Chopper City Boyz) (2007)
01. Intro (Ziggy)
02. "Taking Over"
03. "Bounce"
04. "Make 'Em Mad"
05. "Thorough Street Nigga"
06. "It's Real"
07. "What I Like About Her"
08. "Flatliners"
09. "Chopper City"
10. "Never Had" feat. Mercedes
11. "Knuckle Up"
12. "Heart Of A Killer"
13. "Going On"
14. "Crucial Shit"
15. "Shake 'Em Off"
16. "All Eyes On Me"

I'm The Truth (Da Mixtape) (2007)
01. Intro
02. "The Truth"
03. "Freestyle (Oh Yes)"
04. "If You Want It" feat. B.G.
05. "Dem Chopper City Boyz"
06. "I'mma Uptown Gangsta" feat. B.G.
07. "'Bout Mine"
08. "What You Wanna Do" feat. Hakizzle
09. B.G. Speaks
10. "Y'all Heard Of Me" feat. Maal The Pimp
11. "Ain't No Love"
12. "I Don't Give A Fuck"
13. VL Speakin' His Mind
14. "Freestyle"
15. "Make 'Em Mad" feat. Chopper City Boyz
16. "Cannon Bust Back" feat. B.G.
17. "You Ain't As Hot As I'm Iz"
18. "Hustle With The Hustlers"
19. "Freestyle (I Ain't No Bitch)"
20. "Gangsta"
21. "That Gangsta Shit"
22. "Freestyle" feat. Hakizzle

Place Yo Betz (2007)
01. Intro - Not My Dogg
02. Da Follow Up (Ziggy)
03. "Come Thru Me"
04. "Dig-A-Hole"
05. Fresh Breath (Juice)
06. "We Run It" feat. Twelve A'Klok
07. We Real (Funny)
08. "I'm From New Orleans"
09. Da Wiggla (Ziggy)
10. "Ether"
11. "Lock & Load" feat. Twelve A'Klok
12. "Wus Up"
13. A Word From VL Mike
14. Put Da Drink Down (DJ Kristyles)
15. "U Could Hate Me - Can't See Me"
16. "Do It Myself"
17. Get Exposed (Bear & Ziggy)
18. "My Block"
19. "Gangsta Shit" feat. Twelve A'Klok
20. "It's Twelve A'Klok" (Twelve A'Klok)
21. Jackin' (Ziggy, Bear & Funny)
22. "Real Talk"
23. "It Iz What It Iz"
24. "It's Murda" (The Game)
25. "Still Hood" feat. The Game

Life In The Concrete Jungle (w/Chopper City Boyz) (2008)
01. Intro
02. "Never Look Back"
03. "Keep It Real" feat. Alfamega
04. "Bubblegum" feat. Lady Dolla
05. "Don't Step On My White Feet" feat. Lady Dolla & The Show
06. "Bizness" feat. Hurricane Chris
07. "Dealer" feat. Lac
08. "Maintain"
09. "My Life" feat. Blood Raw
10. "Blow It"
11. "I Like It"
12. "Dick Suck"
13. "G.A."
14. "Be Kool"
15. "M.O.E. (Money Over Everything)" feat. Rocko & 6 Shot
16. "Get Away Wit"
17. "U Can Bleed Too" feat. C-Murder & Skip

Can't Say It 2 My Face (2011)
01. KrisStylez Intro (DJ Perv)
02. Perv Drop
03. "2 Shots"
04. "Black Glocc"
05. "Gangsta Life"
06. The Game Drop
07. "Hit 'Em High, Hit 'Em Low"
08. "That's VL"
09. "Stay Down" feat. Akon
10. "Grew Up A Screw Up" feat. Twelve A'Klok
11. "Money In Here" feat. Mannie Fresh
12. "Brains On Da Wall"
13. "Don't Mention My Name"
14. "I'm V"
15. "Wipe Me Down (Freestyle)" feat. Snipe
16. "We Ain't Friends"
17. "Gutta" feat. Twelve A'Klok
18. "Breathe"

Featured On:
B.G. The Heart Of Tha Streetz Vol. 1 (2005)
"Same Ol' Shit" feat. Hakizzle, Gar, Sniper & VL Mike

B.G. The Heart Of Tha Streetz Vol. 2: I Am What I Am (2006)
"Ain't No Bitch" feat. Webbie & VL Mike

Jimmy The DJ Gangsta Gumbo Vol. 2: Ghetto Pass (Hosted by Nu$$ie) (2008)
"To The Max" (A-Mar & Dyl feat. Max Minelli & VL Mike)

R.I.P. Michael "VL Mike" Allen
1.19.1976 - 4.20.2008

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Blog Archive