Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Review #1,746: Sons Of Funk "The Game Of Funk"

Reviewed on 8.08.2017 (Review #1,746)

Here comes anotha review… Sons Of Funk The Game Of Funk, released in 1998 on No Limit Records & Priority Records. Not a Louisiana group but a part of tha No Limit click, so I gon review it, quickly… Start Time: 5:42 PM | End Time: 6:01 PM

Disclaimer: I rate each song from 1.0 – 5.0; each rating iz my own opinion! I only please myself wit my ratings! I don’t care how lyrical you are, as long as it’s jammin’ enough for me to like it! I look for beats, then vocals, and then lyrics. To determine my favorites, I will differ tha 4.0 ratings. If a song gets at least a 4.0 rating from me, I love it already. If at least a 4.6 rating, I pretty much really love it, as it’s considered mindblowin’ when I hear it! Any song can earn up to a maximum of a 5.0 rating. Anything I type before “ >>> “ iz what I’m sayin’ before I listen to tha song; anything after I type “ >>> “ iz what I think of tha song while I’m listening to it. If you sound like anything too mainstream for me, have auto-tune in your vocals, or talk about nothin’ but money and hoes (which I consider ‘typical’ topics), I’m not buyin’ it!

© 2017 CD Review (Review #1,746) reviewed on 8.08.2017 by FrankieThaLuckyDog.

Link To CD: N/A

01. “Make Love To A Thug” feat. Master P
Beat produced by Sons Of Funk, themselves… >>> Sounds like a good lil’ jam fa tha ’98… I’m diggin’ how P comin’ through on tha 1st verse wit tha “weed” and tha “bubble bath,” lol… Hearin’ tha hook and it’s pretty nice; feelin’ tha celeb party-like vibe, here… Hearin’ tha 2nd verse and y’all sound nice wit tha singin’ flow… Tha rest of this ain’t too bad; good lil’ jam… My Rating: 3.8

02. “Sons Reasons”
Master P did this production… >>> Sounds funky wit tha voice; decent lil’ beat, here… My Rating: 3.6

03. “You & Me”
Anotha production from y’all, here… >>> Decent track; nice for all them couples in tha bed… If I don’t leave much feedback, it’s that this music ain’t really fa me… I musta thought it was somethin’ else when I added it to my marathon of CDs… My Rating: 3.3

04. “I Got The Hook Up” feat. Master P
Collaboration between y’all & KLC on tha production, here… >>> Nice lil’ hook from P, here, supplyin’ tha “hook up.” Likin’ what P contributes ta this and as far as y’all, it’s a decent/betta-than-usual flow… My Rating: 3.7

05. “Y’all I Want”
Sons Of Funk, y’all did it again wit tha production! >>> Decent slow jam… My Rating: 3.2

06. “The First Time”
Keepin’ y’all beats comin’… >>> A nice slow jam, once again… My Rating: 3.3

½time: Just a 3.5-rated CD, so far…

07. “Side To Side” feat. Silkk The Shocker, Mo B. Dick & Master P
A Mo B. production, here… >>> Thought this would be a lil’ betta but iz decent; not too bad fa a slowie… My Rating: 3.4

08. “Makin’ Luv To My B…”
Keepin’ tha Sons productions comin’… >>> Slow and dry; it iz what it iz… My Rating: 3.0

09. “Pushin’ Inside You”
Sons beat… >>> Chill track… My Rating: 2.8

10. “I Got The Hook-Up”
Anotha beat from y’all… >>> Decent track… My Rating: 3.1

11. “Don’t Wanna Let You Go”
Keepin’ y’all productions comin’… >>> I don’t have much ta say, once again; decent… My Rating: 3.0

12. “Hey Lady”
Anotha beat from y’all… >>> Ehh… My Rating: 2.5

13. “Time Will Tell” feat. Master P
Endin’ it with a production from y’all… >>> Kinda diggin’ tha Madonna-soundin’ sample in tha background (tha music, or tha “ahh, ahh, ahh,” or whateva it iz)… As far as this collab, it’s aight; nothin’ special, tho… My Rating: 2.9

Overall: I ain’t expect ta review an R&B CD…; shouldn’ta been in this review marathon…


13.       “Hey Lady” 2.5
12.       “Pushin’ Inside You” 2.8
11.        “Time Will Tell” feat. Master P 2.9
10.       “Don’t Wanna Let You Go” 3.0
09.       “Makin’ Luv To My B…” 3.0
08.       “I Got The Hook-Up” 3.1
07.       “Y’all I Want” 3.2
06.       “The First Time” 3.3
05.       “You & Me” 3.3
04.       “Side To Side” feat. Silkk The Shocker, Mo B. Dick & Master P 3.4
03.   “Sons Reasons” 3.6
02.   “I Got The Hook Up” feat. Master P 3.7
01.   “Make Love To A Thug” feat. Master P 3.8

Average CD Rating Review:

Total Score:                       41.6
Total Songs:                       / 13
Average CD Rating: 3.2

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Blog Archive