Monday, September 19, 2016

Review #1,519: Baby T & Devious D "Down With The Program"

Reviewed on 9.19.2016 (Review #1,519)

Holy fuck!! Can’t believe I’m resumin’ my Louisiana Reviewz Marathon!! I can’t believe it’s been a whoppin’ five years, two months & one week since I last reviewed somethin’ outta tha marathon!! Last review was MC Dice Down For My Crown on July 12, 2011. I had thought it was from ’97, but was from ’95, so I had last left off in tha ’97 year of my marathon… Since then, my iPod had to be restored, I had ta finish college, had an internship in tha summer of 2012, began rippin’ my old cassette tapes to mp3s, was shootin’/editin’ video countdowns during 2013 (which I’m still doin’) and as of 2014, I’ve been workin’ almost every day but Monday with my job. Even tho I’m busy as fuck and in a clusterfuck of doin’ so many things, I’m gonna attempt at restorin’ this marathon! Since I last reviewed in it, I had gotten 52 more cassettes/CDs before where I left off. So, I’m gonna pick back up in order… This 1st one’s from 1991: Baby T & Devious D Down With The Program, sponsored by Brutal Records; all tracks produced by Baby T, himself! Start Time: 5:26 PM | End Time: 6:11 PM

Disclaimer: I rate each song from 1.0 – 5.0; each rating iz my own opinion! I only please myself wit my ratings! I don’t care how lyrical you are, as long as it’s jammin’ enough for me to like it! I look for beats, then vocals, and then lyrics. To determine my favorites, I will differ tha 4.0 ratings. If a song gets at least a 4.0 rating from me, I love it already. If at least a 4.6 rating, I pretty much really love it, as it’s considered mindblowin’ when I hear it! Any song can earn up to a maximum of a 5.0 rating. Anything I type before “ >>> “ iz what I’m sayin’ before I listen to tha song; anything after I type “ >>> “ iz what I think of tha song while I’m listening to it. If you sound like anything too mainstream for me, have auto-tune in your vocals, or talk about nothin’ but money and hoes (which I consider ‘typical’ topics), I’m not buyin’ it!

© 2016 CD Review (Review #1,519) reviewed on 9.19.2016 by FrankieThaLuckyDog.

Link To CD: N/A

01. “Miss Priscilla” feat. Tyjaunna Varnado
I remember playin’ this on my radio show, back in tha dayz… I’m gonna rehear all these jointz like this and see what it gon sound like… >>> I like how it’s dirty; nice job with tha rhymes, Devious! “Have a splendid night;” oh, my sayings!! It’s 1991!! “Semen, I love it;” what a lady!! “Now, I farted;” what a dude!! “Hoe-ass hag!” Lol! Nice speech at tha end; speaks for tha content itself! My Rating: 4.4

02. “Down With The Program”
I’ont remember if I had heard any of these tracks in tha previous reviewz in tha past… So, however tha rest of these reviewz go, they’ll go! >>> Likin’ tha upbeat vibes… Rhymes are on point throughout this…; nice job, Devious! Tha hook’s pretty nice; definitely likin’ tha human beatboxin’ of tha scratchin’! My Rating: 4.0

03. “Ghetto Theme”
Let’s hear it… >>> Tha beat’s nice fa an early ‘90s dark beat… It has a lil’ bit of a dance/mainstream feel to it, at times… Feelin’ some of tha rhymes, here, roamin’ through tha “ghetto.” At times, it seems like there’s not much goin’ on, as there’s too much of tha hook/a beat? My Rating: 3.8

04. “Bustin’ Out”
>>> Beat sounds a lil’ more uptempo… Rhymes sound good; can’t complain… Yeah, these rhymes are pretty consistent… Beat can be good but I expect better fa my music taste… Slowly transitioned around 2:37 with an MJ “Rock With You” beat sample. Now, tha beat samples are bein’ randomly chopped up, here… Kinda seems like a long song, so I’m kinda gettin’ bored… My Rating: 3.9

05. “Something Mellow”
>>> Decent rhymes and beat; nothin’ too special… My Rating: 3.3

½time: Soundin’ like a nice lil’ old school tape, though nothin’ happenin’ too much, at times, with tha beats… Tha rhymes are pretty nice but sound a lil’ cheesy, at times, with tha vocals? A 3.9-rated CD, currently…

06. “Street Life”
>>> Not into tha sample, as well as it soundin’ like shit ta jam to… Good rhymes about livin’ through tha “street life,” but not up to par with me with how this sounds, overall; cheesy… My Rating: 3.5

07. “Goin’ For Mine”
>>> Kinda catchy but I think I’m gettin’ tired of this cheesy voice… My Rating: 3.6

08. “The Beat Is Funky”
>>> Jammin’ fa tha ol’ skool; that’s about it… My Rating: 3.7

09. “This Is It”
>>> Anotha jam… Likin’ tha “ba-ba-bop” sample throughout tha breakdown, at times… My Rating: 3.6

10. “Make My Day”
>>> Sounds a lil’ more upbeat… Likin’ how it sounds a lil’ like “It Takes Two” with tha screamin’ chants in tha background! My Rating: 3.9

11. “The Real Thing”
>>> Not bad… I like how there’s a sample on tha hook about “nothin’ like tha real thing, baby.” My Rating: 3.4

Overall: A lot of it was okay ta listen to, despite boring me, at times… Either way, props fa releasin’ somethin’ during this time. Good job with tha rhymes, at times, and tha beats weren’t too-too bad… Unfortunately, I think I have a headache and am still a lil’ outta it… We’ll see if I gon do anotha flashback review today…


11.        “Something Mellow” 3.3
10.       “The Real Thing” 3.4
09.       “Street Life” 3.5
08.       “Goin’ For Mine” 3.6
07.       “This Is It” 3.6
06.       “The Beat Is Funky” 3.7
05.       “Ghetto Theme” 3.8
04.       “Bustin’ Out” 3.9
03.   “Make My Day” 3.9
02.   “Down With The Program” 4.0
01.   “Miss Priscilla” feat. Tyjaunna Varnado 4.4

Average CD Rating Review:

Total Score:                      41.1
Total Songs:                      / 11
Average CD Rating:       3.7

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Blog Archive