Saturday, September 24, 2016

Review #1,535: Hills Boys "Death Row"

Reviewed on 9.24.2016 (Review #1,535)

Finally gettin’ ta anotha review, after stayin’ an extra hour at work and doin’ a few music thangz… We got Hills Boys Death Row, an unsigned release from Baton Rouge in 1994 & produced by Hills Boys & Tommy Jefferson! Start Time: 6:16 PM | End Time: 6:59 PM

Disclaimer: I rate each song from 1.0 – 5.0; each rating iz my own opinion! I only please myself wit my ratings! I don’t care how lyrical you are, as long as it’s jammin’ enough for me to like it! I look for beats, then vocals, and then lyrics. To determine my favorites, I will differ tha 4.0 ratings. If a song gets at least a 4.0 rating from me, I love it already. If at least a 4.6 rating, I pretty much really love it, as it’s considered mindblowin’ when I hear it! Any song can earn up to a maximum of a 5.0 rating. Anything I type before “ >>> “ iz what I’m sayin’ before I listen to tha song; anything after I type “ >>> “ iz what I think of tha song while I’m listening to it. If you sound like anything too mainstream for me, have auto-tune in your vocals, or talk about nothin’ but money and hoes (which I consider ‘typical’ topics), I’m not buyin’ it!

© 2016 CD Review (Review #1,535) reviewed on 9.24.2016 by FrankieThaLuckyDog.

Link To CD: N/A

01. “Death Row (Radio Version)”
Startin’ off wit a radio version; let’s see… >>> Beat sounds like it’s a lil’ more on a party tip, here, with a faster, plain vibe… Tha 1st verse sounds nice fa an unsigned group; props fa holdin’ tha streetz down… Tha 2nd dude on tha 1st verse sounds a lil’ better; pretty good… Tha hook’s nice with this female; she sounds quiet? Still, nice ta hear! Tha 2nd verse sounds like it has more energy to it…; nice job! Tha 3rd verse sounds a lil’ quiet wit this laidback dude rappin’… Overall, not bad for tha start of a classic tape; I can see why it’s unsigned… Tha quality sounds like they’ve been randomly on tha come-up; good shit… My Rating: 3.7

02. “Profanity”
What about it? >>> Beat sounds good fa an undaground one… Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it sounds good ta hear. “I curse my ass off;” can’t deny dat!! “I use profanity;” nice way ta end tha 1st verse! Tha 2nd verse pretty tight; diggin’ tha dude on tha 2nd verse! Energy, consistent lyrics and, of course, “profanity,” lol! Tha 3rd verse good, too; I think I like ‘em in this order: 2nd, 3rd, 1st, ya dig? My Rating: 4.2

03. “We All That”
Finna eat pumpkin spice pancakes; brb! *Leaves at 6:22 PM…* *Returns at 6:38 PM…* >>> Beat’s kinda East Coast-y and a lil’ plain… Rhymes are ehh; regular-soundin’ rhymes, here… Tha hook sounds aight wit tha sample goin’ on… A female on tha 2nd verse, here, comin’ through wit some fast rhymes, “like a river!” Tha 3rd verse sounds nice and fast, too, even tho I’m not too crazy about this rappin’ and tha style of this track… It just seems too plain and not southern ta me… My Rating: 3.6

04. “Money-Making Spirit (Radio Version)”
Anotha radio version, first… >>> Kickin’ it off wit a lil’ chatter in tha beginning and then, a remake goin’, “Ooh, child…,” on tha hook, here… So far, it’s ehh; I’ont really fuck wit remakes… Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it sounds okay wit this slower rappin’… A lil’ longer than tha previous songs… Hearin’ tha hook and there ain’t much goin’ on… Okay, just a beat; next… Tha 2nd verse sounds okay, too; decent at its finest… Tha “ooh, child”’s in tha background, now… My Rating: 3.4

½time: It sounds like a decent release, so far; nothin’ too crazy… A 3.7-rated CD, so far; let’s keep it movin’…

05. “Psycho Path”
>>> This sounds like a better start, especially with tha “piss,” lol! Feelin’ tha energy, here; good shit, so far, on tha 1st verse! Tha hook’s pretty nice fa what sounds like a sample; feelin’ it! Tha 2nd verse sounds pretty nice, here; feelin’ tha intensity of tha beat, at times, as well as tha fastness!! I can see this bein’ tha best one on this tape! Tha 3rd verse’s pretty nice; definitely feelin’ tha gutta vibes! A really-long beat outro, here, but it kept me thinkin’… My Rating: 4.5

06. “Whole Werks”
>>> I like tha eerie beat start… Really likin’ this long, eerie beat start! How long iz it, now? It’s 40, 41, 42, 43…44…45…46…47…48…49…50…51…51 seconds and now, we got a random female voice; nice! Really reelin’ me in differently! At 1:16, here’s tha 1st verse… It sounds nice ta hear with this New Orleans party sound… Tha 2nd dude sounds good ta hear, too; likin’ tha beat sounds! Randomness that would sound like my sound effects! Nice beat sound at 3:11; interesting how it’s just tha trumpetish sound, lol! Tha 2nd verse’s soundin’ nice, here! I think it’s 2nd…? Long intro, one dude, anotha dude and then, after tha beat interlude, anotha dude, lol… Well, with that bein’ said, it sounds like we got a long outro goin’ on, here… My Rating: 4.3

07. “Money-Making Spirit”
Now, we have tha dirty version! See #4 fa tha review!

08. “Death Row”
This, too… See #1 fa tha review!

09. “Rappin’ It Up”
>>> Beat sounds nice and anthemic wit tha chantin’ in tha background… Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it’s pretty good… Now, it transitioned into shout outs; nice, especially wit rappin’ before that… “I like ta give a shout out ta my mothafuckin’ dick!” Lol @ that! My Rating: 3.5

Overall: At times, this was decent; at times, this was nice… It was an okay review, overall, but you know I love my unsigned releases! Great job with those few jointz I really liked! Hope y’all still achievin’ $ucce$$ out there!


07.       “Money-Making Spirit” 3.4
06.       “Rappin’ It Up” 3.5
05.       “We All That” 3.6
04.       “Death Row (Radio Version)” 3.7
03.   “Profanity” 4.2
02.   “Whole Werks” 4.3
01.   “Psycho Path” 4.5

Average CD Rating Review:

Total Score:                      27.2
Total Songs:                      / 07
Average CD Rating:       3.9

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Blog Archive