Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Review #1,526: Tha Darkside "Tales From Tha Darkside"

Reviewed on 9.21.2016 (Review #1,526)

Review #04 today: Tha Darkside Tales From Tha Darkside, released in 1993 on E.K.S. Records & was produced by Ernest Smith & Sharntii Baheth. Start Time: 4:54 PM | End Time: 5:56 PM

Disclaimer: I rate each song from 1.0 – 5.0; each rating iz my own opinion! I only please myself wit my ratings! I don’t care how lyrical you are, as long as it’s jammin’ enough for me to like it! I look for beats, then vocals, and then lyrics. To determine my favorites, I will differ tha 4.0 ratings. If a song gets at least a 4.0 rating from me, I love it already. If at least a 4.6 rating, I pretty much really love it, as it’s considered mindblowin’ when I hear it! Any song can earn up to a maximum of a 5.0 rating. Anything I type before “ >>> “ iz what I’m sayin’ before I listen to tha song; anything after I type “ >>> “ iz what I think of tha song while I’m listening to it. If you sound like anything too mainstream for me, have auto-tune in your vocals, or talk about nothin’ but money and hoes (which I consider ‘typical’ topics), I’m not buyin’ it!

© 2016 CD Review (Review #1,526) reviewed on 9.21.2016 by FrankieThaLuckyDog.

Link To CD: N/A

01. “Mack Daddy”
>>> Beat ain’t too bad, here; flows nicely with tha ‘90s… Tha 1st verse’s soundin’ nice ta hear… Tha hook sounds good with tha Kris Kross sample with tha “miggity-miggity-miggity-miggity-mack;” good shit! Tha 2nd verse’s soundin’ good, too… Tha 3rd verse’s soundin’ like a nice and more-energetic verse, here…; gotta feel it… My Rating: 4.2

02. “Move To This Groove”
I gotta eat dinner, right quick (fried chicken); brb… *Leaves at 4:58 PM…* *Returns at 5:17 PM…* >>> Sounds like a live performance but with a nice lil’ dark jam… I’m diggin’ this sample, too, on tha hook; “to this groove!!” A short 1st verse but it sounds nice ta hear with this jam! Tha 2nd verse sounds great with tha energy, here… Tha 3rd verse sounds good, at times; almost reminds me of E.U. (“Da Butt”), lol. My Rating: 4.4

03. “I Don’t Know What To Do”
>>> Sounds like a semi-spooky start with those background vocals… It’s soundin’ more interesting with tha lil’ chantin’ in tha background before tha 1st verse comes… Here’s tha 1st verse and it’s soundin’ good. This iz smooth, unlike tha previous song, which was fulla energy… If tha hook’s that nice chant, then that’s fine; I can dig it… Tha 2nd verse’s keepin’ that chill delivery comin’… Instead of just a plain hook, we have a lil’ rappin’ on top of it; nice! Or, was that tha end of what was tha 2nd verse? Either way, keepin’ it goin’ wit tha 3rd verse… Not too bad, overall… My Rating: 3.7

04. “True Love”
>>> Nice dark beat ta start this off; really diggin’ tha melody! Hook’s brilliant! Diggin’ tha hook with tha female vocals on top of it, in tha background! Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it’s a nice and laidback flow; nice! Tha 2nd verse’s pretty good, too; regular flow, regular lyrics delivered regularly. We got tha 3rd verse, here, and it’s throwback ta high school with tha “your picture on my locker” line, lol… I also like tha “flash of lightning” line, too… My Rating: 4.4

05. “Love Without Pain”
>>> Sounds like a nice beat start, despite it bein’ a different kinda rap style fa me… More on tha “love” tip with a long beat intro… After 1:03, here comes a verse? Sounds like singin’ ta me… Not too bad, despite catchin’ me off-guard… Not much with tha verses but still a good track… My Rating: 3.8

½time: Feelin’ this dark CD, here; good release, guys! A 4.1-rated release, so far!

06. “We Like To Fuck”
>>> Beat sounds nice and upbeat; feelin’ tha hook, too… Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it’s pretty good; can’t deny it… Tha 2nd verse’s pretty good, too; can’t deny this verse, too… Hearin’ tha 3rd verse and it’s on tha raunchy side…; nice… Nice screamin’ at tha end… My Rating: 3.9

07. “Don’t Fuck With Tha Darkside”
That’s right! I love “tha” dark, tho! >>> Feelin’ tha G-Funk-type, West Coastlicious beat, lol… Tha hook’s pretty nice; back to tha anthemic anthems! Good job with tha 1st verse, here, comin’ through, lettin’ ‘em know how it iz! Tha 2nd verse’s pretty nice; good job… Keepin’ it goin’ wit tha 3rd verse, here, comin’ through wit dat energy! Feelin’ tha voice and tha flow; raw! My Rating: 4.3

08. “Get Your Mind Right”
>>> Lil’ samplin’ goin’ on in tha beat, here; sounds good fa a start… Hearin’ tha 1st verse and it’s pretty serious; definitely feelin’ tha energy! Tha hook sounds like what Three 6 Mafia could’ve been influenced by! “Tear da club up…, tear da club up…;” reminds me of that. Tha 2nd verse’s pretty good, too; gotta feel tha rappin’ and its energy! Keepin’ it goin’ wit tha 3rd verse, here, all about dat boost! My Rating: 4.0

09. “Nowhere To Run, Nowhere To Hide”
>>> Feelin’ tha police sirens in tha background with tha beat; definitely adds paranoia to tha track! Tha hook’s pretty nice; definitely feelin’ tha title/content! Reminds me of bein’ at tha Kings Park Psychiatric Center at night, when I hear people goin’ there when it’s dark! Shit’s official! I wanna believe in ghosts! Tha 1st verse’s soundin’ nice; definitely feelin’ this paranoia!! Paranoia’s tha best on tha content!! Tha 2nd verse’s definitely official! Just luv how y’all break down this scene that’s goin’ on! Either way, gotta luv bein’ out at night! I just hate when it’s cold out… Hearin’ tha 3rd verse and it’s definitely nice ta hear, too; good shit! My Rating: 4.5

10. “When Will It Ever Stop”
>>> Nice lil’ laidback vibe ta end this CD off… Feelin’ tha hook with those female vocals in tha background; definitely trill! Hearin’ tha 1st verse and this beat’s definitely on-n-poppin’! Gotta luv how y’all rappin’ ova this dark shit; not disappointing!! Hearin’ tha 2nd verse and it’s nice ta hear, too; keep it goin’! Hearin’ tha 3rd verse and yeah, it’s a struggle out there… My Rating: 4.2

Overall: Nice release! Gotta embrace tha dark! Y’all did a great job tellin’ y’all tales!! Hope y’all still grindin’ today!


10.       “I Don’t Know What To Do” 3.7
09.       “Love Without Pain” 3.8
08.       “We Like To Fuck” 3.9
07.       “Get Your Mind Right” 4.0
06.       “Mack Daddy” 4.2
05.       “When Will It Ever Stop” 4.2
04.       “Don’t Fuck With Tha Darkside” 4.3
03.   “Move To This Groove” 4.4
02.   “True Love” 4.4
01.   “Nowhere To Run, Nowhere To Hide” 4.5

Average CD Rating Review:

Total Score:                      41.4
Total Songs:                      / 10
Average CD Rating:       4.1

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Blog Archive